Sign The Guestbook
View The Guestbook
Archived Guestbook
Submit An Article
Staff List
Privacy Policy



LA Area Emmy Awards

As a three term member of the Board of Governors of the Academy of Television Arts and Sciences and the Executive Producer of the LA Area Emmys, I've overseen a number of changes involving the LA Area Emmy Awards. This year there is yet another! The following article is reprint of one recently published in Academy Connection LA, the newsletter of the LA Peer Group of the TV Academy.

By Hal Eisner

For the Los Angeles Area Emmy Awards it's a season of change as we move our presentation from one season to another! Before we look ahead, let's look back.

Generally speaking, The LA Emmys is a lot different now than it was when I was in my first term on the Academy's Board of Governors. Now, in my third term, and 7th year as the show's Executive Producer, the changes continue.

For many years, the annual presentation involved local anchors and reporters presenting awards to such winners as -- local anchors and reporters. There was nothing wrong with that. In fact, we had some great shows. But, as time went on, we tried to make it feel more like it's namesake involving more high profile celebrities ... moving in the direction of what I liked calling "Primetime Junior."

Over the next 6 years, our hosts would include Marc Summers, Byron Allen, Paul Rodriguez (twice), Louie Anderson and Ed McMahon. We would have some terrific presenters such as Martin Landau, David Ogden Stiers, Jo Beth Williams, George Gray, Diane Ladd, Ken Howard, Robert Guillaume, Robert Wuhl, Mathew ST Patrick, Alan Rachins, CCH Pounder -- the list goes on and on! We began webcasting the show. We added entertainment to it. And, after a 23 year hiatus, we got it back on TV! In the last three years it's been on KTLA, KCOP and KCBS.

In 2002 there were more changes. For many years it was held at the Pasadena Civic Auditorium. Last year we brought it back to the home of the Emmys -- The Academy of Television Arts and Sciences in North Hollywood and threw a terrific after-show party out on the plaza. The feedback was wonderful!

A lot of people were responsible for making all of this happen. Shirley Neal, an Academy member who owns Park Hill Entertainment, was our producer. She had a great hardworking production team. Our peer group leadership during those years included Nelson Davis, Socorro Serrano, Harry Kooperstein and Mitch Waldow. The Academy leadership, staff, Awards VP John Leverence and LA Area Administrator Liz Korda always gave it 200% and contributed lots of great ideas.

Now, another big change! For years, we've given out our awards in May. Slowly, but surely the presentation started creeping into June. This year we were almost into July. Over the years many have complained about the timing. It's too hot! It's right after the May book and it's vacation time! In many ways it's also seemed out of step with the rest of Emmy season in the fall.

This year, we're proud to announce that the 2003 LA Area Emmy Awards Presentation is moving from June to September -- from early summer to Emmy Season! This year's presentation will be on September 6th, a week after Labor Day and just before the September Creative Arts Awards and the Primetime Emmys. It's a season when there's lots of Emmy talk and buzz. It should give all of us in the LA Area Peer Group a renewed pride in, not just our celebration of excellence, but also in the Academy of Television Arts and Sciences!